Mateusz Pałka / Szymon Mika Quartet

Each musicians from the group has already been acknowledged individually and awarded on international festivals such as Jazz Hoeilaart, Jazz nad Odrą, Getxo International Jazz Festival.

Mateusz Pałka – piano
Szymon Mika – guitar
Alan Wykpisz – double bass
Grzegorz Masłowski – drums

“Popyt” in Polish means demand. The musicians of the Mateusz Pałka/Szymon Mika Quartet believe there’s a demand for expressive melodies in jazz.

Out of this conviction came an album with six original compositions by Mateusz Pałka/Szymon Mika and one Sonny Rollins’ standard “Airegin”. It’s a balanced dialogue between piano and guitar with suitable additions from the bass and drums that takes listeners on a journey throughout the album.This is their debut album as Mateusz Pałka/Szymon Mika Quartet.

released March 16, 2015

Produced by Mateusz Pałka and Szymon Mika
Recorded at Preisner Studio on January 11,12 2014
Recordered, mixed and mastered by Mateusz Sołtysik
Photography: Szymon Kamykowski
Graphic design by Agata Glenc

The band is the winner of the GRAND PRIX AND FIRST PRIZE of the Festival Azoty International Jazz Contest in Tarnow, Poland (2013)